The Brigham Award for Women Writers is not currently accepting submissions. We will open submissions again in the fall of 2019.

Commemorating Brigham's work and memory, Lost Roads will publish a book of poems by a woman writer living away from the largest of urban centers. The winner will receive $500 and publication.

Before you submit, please consider what we have already published as the best understanding of what we may publish in the future (read some of our books if you haven't already!). Also you can read Editor Susan Scarlata discussing the first Brigham Award winner.

To Submit

STEP 1: Remove your name and contact info from your manuscript.

STEP 2: Title your manuscript and the "Subject" of your email like so: BB.Award.Title.of.My.Manuscript.5.13 (.doc or .pdf). Email info(at)lostroads(dot)org with a manuscript of at least 50 pages of poetry. Include your name, address, contact information, and a bio in the body of the email — the only place contact information should appear.

STEP 3: Pay the $20 submission fee via PayPal. This will not pay salaries or readers — we all volunteer. It will support quality writing.

STEP 4: That’s it. We can't wait to read what you send! Expect to hear from us by XX.

About Besmilr Brigham

Besmilr Brigham (1913-2000) was an "outsider writer" who shirked well-trodden paths. In a lifetime spent across the Southern U.S. and Mexico she was always writing; her work appeared in Harpers and New Directions and was stored in broken refrigerators and other appliances. A selection of her work, Run Through Rock, is available through Lost Roads.


Poetic manuscripts are accepted by women living in rural areas or away from the coasts in small cities with less than a million people. Women living outside the U.S. please query: info(at)lostroads(dot)org.

Judging Process

Guest judges work with Lost Roads Editor Susan Scarlata to select the winning manuscript. Each manuscript is read blind.

Past Judges:

2018 - Carolyn Hembree and Joan Kane

2017 - Andrea Rexilius & Eric Baus

2016 - John Keene & Eleni Sikelianos

2015 - Aaron McCullough and Kristin Prevallet

2014 - Brian Blanchfield & Arda Collins

2012 - Danielle Pafunda & Prageeta Sharma